Photo Gallery
March 16 Finale vol.1 Closing Ceremony


Filipino film "Shift" by Siege Ledesma wins the Grand Prix!

Prior to the closing screening, the closing ceremony was held, where all award winners of OAFF 2014 were announced.

  • MC TAKANO Junichi of Asahi Broadcasting Corporation
  • Jurors (from left) Ms. Yang Lina, Mr. Tom Lin, Ms. Eugene Domingo


The Audience Award was given to "KANO" (Director: Umin Boya/Taiwan). Comments from the director and the producer WEI Te-sheng were read at the ceremony.

"Receiving the Audience Award with my debut feature has encouraged me a lot. I believe "KANO" is wonderfully blooming and flying" (Director Umin Boya)

"It is really meaningful for us that the audience in Osaka liked our film. Come and visit Taiwan. We'll welcome you." (Producer WEI Te-sheng)


The ABC Award went to "Forever Love" by KITAMURA Toyoharu and SHIAO Li-shiou from Taiwan. "I thought we would win the Audience Award, but it went to "KANO", Taiwan-based director KITAMURA jokingly said. "I grew up Shiga in Kansai, so I'd like to be a bridge between Japan and Taiwan. I think the two regions are culturally alike. Let's make both Osaka and Taiwan even more exciting places!"


"Anita's Last Cha-Cha" directed by Sigrid Andrea P. Bernard from the Philippines received the Special Mention.

"Thank you very much. I would like to express my respect to the four other films from the Philippines." (left: Director Sigrid Andrea P. Bernard)

"I wholeheartedly appreciate all of the Osaka Asian Film Festival." (center: Cinematographer/Producer Alma R. Dela PEŇA)


The Best Actress Award was given to Ms. Calina LAU of "Bends" (Hong Kong).


Director HA Jung-woo of "Fasten Your Seatbelt" won the Most Promising Talent Award. On behalf of HA, Ms. Park, Young Hea of Director, Korean Cultural Center Osaka commented, "I am sure the director is glad to receive this honor with his directorial debut film. I hope he will come to Osaka next time."


The Grand Prix went to "Shift" by Siege LEDESMA from the Philippines. The director, who looked surprised, went onstage and hugged Ms. Eugene DOMINGO, who announced the winner as a jury member.

Director LEDESMA said, "I still can't believe this. I had a few nominations for film awards in the Philippines, but I didn't win. Thank you very much for giving me such a big honor. I appreciate all my cast and staff members. I am honored to be here. Thank you very much."


Ms. Eugene DOMINGO spoke on behalf of the jury in the end of the ceremony. Revealing that the comment draft was written by Mr. Tom Lin, she made hilarious and heartfelt remarks, adding her own words.

"Good evening ladies and gentlemen, it has been an honor serving on the jury of the 2014 Osaka Asian Film Festival. While all of us on the jury agree that this year the Korean films and the films from The Philippines are the ones that impressed us the most, the hard work all of you filmmakers did made our jobs watching so many movies in such a short amount of time a whole lot easier. This year, we merit a film for its simplicity, honestly and its integrity for pushing boundaries. Please, a round of applause again to all the nominated films and filmmakers. We would like to once again thank the Osaka Asian Film Festival for bringing all of us here together, and to all the audience and supporters of the festival, this important cultural event is the window for Osaka to the rest of the world, okini!"

The OAFF 2014's Closing Ceremony finished with much laughter and many touching moments.




  • Actress IKEWAKI Chizuru
  • Director O Mipo